Sunday, March 25, 2007

Dispute Resolution Bill Passes House

House Bill 1630, providing alternative dispute resolution practices for public employees, passed the Arkansas House of Representative by 68-19 on March 21st. AFSCME 965 strongly supports this legislation to protect public sector workers from arbitrary actions.

Voting for the bill were Fayetteville Reps. Lindsley Smith and Marilyn Edwards and Mark Martin (R-Prairie Grove). Republican Reps. John Woods of Springdale and Mike Kenney and Daryl Pace of Siloam Springs voted against it. Rep. Jim House of Fayetteville did not vote.

The bill is now in the Senate Committee on Public Health, Welfare, and Labor. Senator Bill Pritchard of Elkins is a member of that committee. Please contact him at and ask him to support HB1630 to protect worker rights.

No comments: