Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Minimum Wage Hike Passes House

Legislation to have the stae minimum wage law parallel the federal wage rates passed the Arkansas House of Representative today, 67-27. The bill is sponsored by Local 965's own Representative Jim Nickels (D-Sherwood), and it would raise the Arkansas minimum wage to $7.25 in July.

Fayetteville Democratic legislators Lindsley Smith, Jim House, and Uvalde Lindsey all voted for the bill.

All Northwest Arkansas Republicans vote NO -- Duncan Baird, Jonathan Barnett, Les Carnine, Debra Hobbs, Donna Hutchinson, Bryan King, Mark Martin, Roy Ragland, Marylou Slinkard, and Tim Summers -- and to keep wages below the federal poverty level. Jon Woods (R-Springdale) did not vote, which has the same effect as voting no.

No comments: