Saturday, June 2, 2007

Celebrating 120 Years of Local Labor History

This month marks the 120th anniversary of organized labor making a difference for working families in Fayetteville and Washington County. On June 17th, 1887, Fayetteville Lodge No. 10,388, Knights of Labor organized at Byrnes' Hall at Fayetteville. A. C. Hoag, a carpenter from Minnesota, was elected Master Workman of the local lodge. Other officers included J. Tillman, W. F.; Calvin H. Putman, W. I.; W. Gakin, Almoner; S. H. Smith, F. S.; Henry M. Rieff, Treas.; E. D. Erwin, Statistician; C. T. Carr, R. S.; John French, U. K.; A. Hodges, I. E.; John Zilla, O. E.; H. M. Rieff, Judge; D. Calvin, Judge Advocate. These, with twenty-five others, constituted the charter membership.

AFSCME Local 965 honors those who lived and made labor history. Today our members are proud to continue the union tradition of fighting for a better life for working families in Fayetteville and Northwest Arkansas.

No comments: